Return to Baseball Leftovers

HELP urgently required - Yahoo draft problem

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

HELP urgently required - Yahoo draft problem

Postby chris8 » Wed Mar 23, 2005 4:27 pm

Hey guys.

I'm currently in a live draft, but there is a serious problem.

The live draft window opens OK, and I can chat with the other league members.

But none of the players names are appearing in the 'players available' window. So obviously, I can't highlight any to draft, and the names also aren't appearing in the appropriate box when they are drafted.

Does anyone have any idea

a) what on earth is going on?

B) how to fix it?!

Thanks in advance!
chris8
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
CafeholicFantasy ExpertCafe WriterCafe RankerMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeLucky Ladders ChampionPick 3 Weekly WinnerMatchup Meltdown Survivor
Posts: 6850
(Past Year: -156)
Joined: 13 Mar 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Going to see a man about a dog

Postby thomasps3 » Wed Mar 23, 2005 4:28 pm

only thing i can think of is to either:

A. use your own cheat sheets, or

B. close the window and try again...

Good Luck
Image
thomasps3
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

User avatar
Cafe WriterMock(ing) Drafter
Posts: 1664
(Past Year: -8)
Joined: 2 Jan 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Giving BIG UPS to Teddy BallGame for the AWESOME SIG

Postby Dmville » Wed Mar 23, 2005 4:29 pm

I'm assuming you tested before the draft?

Close the window and re-enter. If not then, it may be a java problem I believe. Can't help ya there.

Good luck.
Dmville
Dmville
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

User avatar

Posts: 489
(Past Year: -10)
Joined: 8 Feb 2005
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby chris8 » Wed Mar 23, 2005 4:31 pm

Yeah, I tested before the draft, and tested since the draft started...both times it said successful!

Also tried closing the window, shutting down the computer and everything else I can think of!!

All I can say is...good job I preranked!
chris8
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
CafeholicFantasy ExpertCafe WriterCafe RankerMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeLucky Ladders ChampionPick 3 Weekly WinnerMatchup Meltdown Survivor
Posts: 6850
(Past Year: -156)
Joined: 13 Mar 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Going to see a man about a dog

Postby chris8 » Wed Mar 23, 2005 4:40 pm

No one else have any ideas?
chris8
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
CafeholicFantasy ExpertCafe WriterCafe RankerMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeLucky Ladders ChampionPick 3 Weekly WinnerMatchup Meltdown Survivor
Posts: 6850
(Past Year: -156)
Joined: 13 Mar 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Going to see a man about a dog

Postby racmurphy » Wed Mar 23, 2005 4:44 pm

4 or 5 years ago, we had a similar problem. We think there was a limit on how many teams could join in. when one guy joined in, it froze all of us up. Later we discovered that the computer drafted all of our teams. This was no good. We ended using instant messenger to 'manually' redraft over the internet the next day. Boy that year sucked. Good luck.
racmurphy
College Coach
College Coach


Posts: 217
Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Memphis, TN

Postby Broncmet724 » Wed Mar 23, 2005 6:16 pm

I've had a lot of problems this year with Yahoo and pre ranking. I would crash until almost the end of the draft before I could get in, happened in several leagues
Broncmet724 Beginner
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

User avatar

Posts: 1734
(Past Year: -20)
Joined: 8 Apr 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: On the outside looking in

Postby jellyroll » Wed Mar 23, 2005 8:00 pm

Reboot. I've had troubles with the javascript in the past. I keep 2 computers up in case the app or computer crashes. Each year one usually crashes :( hope for the best I got a draft later today.
jellyroll
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

User avatar

Posts: 526
(Past Year: -1)
Joined: 6 Jun 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: West Indies

Postby djack909 » Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:49 pm

it happened to me 4 times this year. I found that my browser Netcaptor was the problem some times. That particular browser screens for popups and during a draft it will interpret a signal from Yahoo as a popup. Even the data load would not come up. Switched to Internet Exlporer and settled that problem. In one draft I had 4 1B men and no closers before I could get on. In another I had 3 SS and no closers.
djack909
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor


Posts: 701
(Past Year: -11)
Joined: 20 Jan 2005
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby davus » Thu Mar 24, 2005 1:01 am

djack909 wrote:it happened to me 4 times this year. I found that my browser Netcaptor was the problem some times. That particular browser screens for popups and during a draft it will interpret a signal from Yahoo as a popup. Even the data load would not come up. Switched to Internet Exlporer and settled that problem. In one draft I had 4 1B men and no closers before I could get on. In another I had 3 SS and no closers.


I don't think Yahoo would draft more than 2 1b (on for 1b and one for utility) until it filled every other position. That's how their tool works. :-?
davus
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

User avatar

Posts: 768
Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball

Next

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests

cron