Return to Baseball Leftovers

Question on having an "Ace"

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Question on having an "Ace"

Postby RJCarrot » Wed May 11, 2005 3:33 pm

Ok, many people are telling me that I need to have an "Ace" for my team. This is my first year playing and while I understand that having a player that has proven himself time and time again as well as being reliable is a good thing.

My question is, what advantage does having an "Ace" have over a lower man on the pitching totem pole, if the lower man is doing well...

From what I have seen, they dont seem to pitch any more than the other guys because they rotate...

So if you have a guy thats 5th in the rotation pitching the lights out and your "Ace" isnt... is there an advantage?

I understand this question has probably come up every year and the Aces pull ahead while the people who start off the season fold. But if someone were to take the big risk of not using an Ace and just playing with say... A deck of Jacks and Kings....

What disadvandge do they have.
RJCarrot
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: In a clock tower w/ a high powered rifle in clear view of David Bell in the batters box.

Postby pokerplaya » Wed May 11, 2005 5:18 pm

I wouldn't want to have a staff of Garland's and Dontrelle's. However, having a staff of number two guys you can find in the mid rounds doesn't bother me in the least. Guys like Beckett, Burnett and Halladay can be found in the 5th-7th rounds and that's usually where I like to grab my first pitcher.

To each his own, I suppose, but while I think you can get by with spending a 5th round pick on your ace, I don't think you can get by with late round suprises like Garland and Dontrelle, as they won't be this dominant the whole year.

Atleast I don't think so....
pokerplaya
Kitchen Staff
Kitchen Staff

CafeholicFantasy ExpertCafe WriterCafe RankerMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeCafe MusketeerPick 3 Weekly WinnerLucky Ladders Weekly Winner