Return to Baseball Leftovers

How do you rank for 5x5?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

How do you rank for 5x5?

Postby shortsavage » Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:13 pm

How do you rank players for 5x5 leagues?

I'm a student, so you can throw as complicated of an answer at me as you want ;-) .

I just want to see if the system I've come up with is weak, standard, or above average in terms of attention to detail and accuracy.

Thanks ;-D .
shortsavage
General Manager
General Manager

Cafe WriterWeb Supporter
(Past Year: -15)
Home Cafe: Baseball

5x5 rankings

Postby bigjimblue » Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:29 pm

I play both this type and point leagues. First of all I gather as many projections as possible. Then I spreadsheet for the particular type league. Surprizingly after Pujols and Rodriguez the rankings vary significally!
bigjimblue
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

(Past Year: -5)

Re: 5x5 rankings

Postby shortsavage » Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:47 pm

bigjimblue wrote:I play both this type and point leagues. First of all I gather as many projections as possible. Then I spreadsheet for the particular type league. Surprizingly after Pujols and Rodriguez the rankings vary significally!

So you just gather projections and average them in order to rank?
shortsavage
General Manager
General Manager

Cafe WriterWeb Supporter

Postby shortsavage » Mon Jan 09, 2006 5:58 pm

Are we secretive today?
shortsavage
General Manager
General Manager

Cafe WriterWeb Supporter

Postby thinkspin » Mon Jan 09, 2006 6:01 pm

Ranking players is as complex as you want it to be. Many people just average a bunch of different sources and feel it is good enough. Others use formulas that they tweak continuously to come up with a linear ranking.

But ranking players CORRECTLY is very complicated. If you are looking for your own method, a good place to start would be the 2005 Regular Season statistics. Rank using your method and see if it compares with what other sites/sources say.