Return to Baseball Leftovers

How do I build a great team?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

How do I build a great team?

Postby FBIGUY » Tue Jan 10, 2006 3:36 pm

Help me out guys! I am a first timer to the world of Fantasy Baseball.

I have joined a league with my buddies. We have 12 teams on CBS sportsline. We re-draft every year. I have the 8th pick in a snake draft for this 2006 season.

Other than that I am a real rookie....I can't really name much more than the best players in the league. I have played Fantasy Football and am very into that, but have been slow in getting into the Baseball. I need help with general info and draft help. I have no idea where to start....should I go pitcher...2nd 3rd base? How should one go about building a great team.

I do want to be good...but I just don't want to grab a ranking sheet and draft.

Help me out with some of you tips! Thanks a million.
Writing Fantasy Baseball Articles whenever I get a chance and checking my fantasy teams.
FBIGUY
Softball Supervisor
Softball Supervisor

Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby djacks » Tue Jan 10, 2006 3:48 pm

First thing you need to do is buy a fantasy baseball magazine or get a cheat sheet.

As far as who to draft, what positions etc...always take the best player available regardless of position for the first 3-4 rounds...then start looking at positions you need to fill. You said this was a re-draft league so you don't need to worry about young "potential" as much. Go with more proven veterans and sure things and look for breakout stars with your late round picks.

I'm sure you'll get lots of great advice here...and welcome to the Cafe... ;-D
"Every government interference in the economy consists of giving an unearned benefit, extorted by force, to some men at the expense of others."-Ayn Rand
djacks
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

(Past Year: -9)

Postby FBIGUY » Tue Jan 10, 2006 3:55 pm