Return to Baseball Leftovers

Max Innings Question

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Max Innings Question

Postby GSOE » Fri Mar 31, 2006 9:28 am

As a disclaimer this is my first year in fantasy baseball and im not too sure of all the rules and strategies quite yet. That being said i was wondering about Max Innings. In my 5x5 roto league we start 2 SP, 2 RP, and 4 Ps. The Max Inning is set on 1400. Will i have to worry about this? will my pitchers reach that? Also if they do how do i counteract that? Thanks.
GSOE Beginner
College Coach
College Coach

Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby ukrneal » Fri Mar 31, 2006 9:50 am

Depends on your makeup. For simplicity, I generally assume 200 IP for a starter and 75 IP fir a reliever. So if you have 6 starters and 3 relievers, that gets you to just over 1400. In reality a few pitchers will do more. Others will do less: injury, missed starts, etc. Add to that - there will probably be some starts where you bench a guy usually due to a bad matchup or Coors. I'd want at least 6 starters in your setup, probably 7 (one as a backup in case someone gets injured).

1400 won't be an issue if you manage it. You don't want to get there too quickly (ideally the last day) or too late (it's bad to have many unused innings).

Figure it this way - you'll be using about 230 IP per month. If you get too far from this, you're probably under or over playing the pitchers.
ukrneal
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

(Past Year: -150)

Postby GSOE » Fri Mar 31, 2006 4:22 pm

so you would suggest having an empty pitcher spot everyone once and a while when your pitchers have a bad matchup?
GSOE Beginner
College Coach
College Coach

Postby TheYanks04 » Fri Mar 31, 2006 4:35 pm

IMO, no. Unless you start playing around with spot starts of bench pitchers too much.

On avg a starter is good for 200-225 IPs a year.
A reliever about 70-75 IPs.