Return to Baseball Leftovers

Help a newb. Whats my strategy with these settings?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Help a newb. Whats my strategy with these settings?

Postby haymarket » Sat Mar 08, 2008 1:29 pm

First off, I was a lurker here last season (my first) and these forums helped me win two yahoo leagues last year, so thank you to all. I have joined a league this year with some different settings, and I'm not sure what my strategy should be for my draft tomorrow morning. The leagues that I have played have been the Yahoo! public 5x5 H2H leagues, so you know where my background is. The settings are as follows:
Pos.
C, 1b, 2b, 3b, SS, OF(3), Util(3), SP, SP, Rp, Rp, P, P, P, P BN(5), DL(2)
Categories
OFF. R, 1b, 2b, 3b, HR, Rbi, SB, AVG, Slam,
Pitch. W, L, SHO, SV, K, ERA, WHIP, Pickoffs, No Hitters
It is a H2H league with daily roster moves and 20 inn minimum for innings pitched. Redraft.

I think the categories of SLAM, SHO, Pickoffs, and No Hitters are things that you just cant put value on in a draft, which for drafting purposes makes this more of a 8x6 league.
On the offensive side I feel that with the 2 extra UTILs that I need to draft even more offense early so I have every day players filling out my offense. Also, I feel a need to bump guys like Reyes, Rollins, Figgy, and Granderson up a notch or two, while downgrading guys like Howard just a touch who walk or strikeout a lot.
On the pitching side I think that i need to load up closers and low ratio MR's with the potential to move to the closers job (ie. Rauch, Gordon, Fuentes, TPena), while taking maybe one decent starter in the middle rounds so I can get to the 20 inn mark.
I think these settings make this league a complete crapshoot, but that my best strategy is to draft a great offense, and give myself a good shot a the L, SV, ERA, and WHIP on the pitching side.
So there you have it, my first post. :-) . Now, tell me how bad my strategy is.
haymarket
College Coach
College Coach

(Past Year: -1)