Page 1 of 1

Yahoo - starting lineup indicators

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 6:40 pm
by BitterDodgerFan
what's up with yahoo these days putting x instead of ^ on players that actually start games? i started noticing this few weeks ago when they mistakenly put x on a player who was in the starting lineup. today this happens with rollins, victorino, burrell to name a few. now i have to double check to see if yahoo is wrong.

Re: Yahoo - starting lineup indicators

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 6:46 pm
by Old_Style
I'm pretty sure there was an "x" next to every Phillie for today's games. I noticed that Yahoo didn't have Rollins and Howard active for today, and it seemed pretty odd. I checked the pregame box score and none of the Phillies were listed, not even the starting pitcher.
Somebody screwed up over there.

Re: Yahoo - starting lineup indicators

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 6:52 pm
by BitterDodgerFan
hmm... yeah it must be a philly thing, come to think of it it's always been philly players that get the incorrect "x".

Re: Yahoo - starting lineup indicators

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 11:25 pm
by Fantasy Sports Genie
I noticed that today myself. It isn't like we have Buser sitting there typing in x's as fast as he can. Right, Matt? The x's are a direct function of the data that we get fed in our real-time data. But if we're getting fed flakey data, we can at least ask our provider what the scoop is. How confident are you that it is always Phillies that we're getting fed wrong?

Re: Yahoo - starting lineup indicators

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 2:03 am
by BitterDodgerFan
Fantasy Sports Genie wrote:I noticed that today myself. It isn't like we have Buser sitting there typing in x's as fast as he can. Right, Matt? The x's are a direct function of the data that we get fed in our real-time data. But if we're getting fed flakey data, we can at least ask our provider what the scoop is. How confident are you that it is always Phillies that we're getting fed wrong?

pretty confident. its happened to me before on both victorino and rollins, who are both phillies. i don't recall it happening on any other teams' players.

Re: Yahoo - starting lineup indicators

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 1:41 pm
by mbuser
Fantasy Sports Genie wrote:I noticed that today myself. It isn't like we have Buser sitting there typing in x's as fast as he can. Right, Matt?

you are correct, sir
Image

Re: Yahoo - starting lineup indicators

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 1:53 pm
by Fantasy Sports Genie
mbuser wrote:
Fantasy Sports Genie wrote:I noticed that today myself. It isn't like we have Buser sitting there typing in x's as fast as he can. Right, Matt?

you are correct, sir
Image

I was joking :-) , but glad to hear that is really the case. I was gonna have to talk to your boss if that is what he had you doing all day.

I've forwarded on this problem for someone to investigate.

Re: Yahoo - starting lineup indicators

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 11:23 pm
by Fantasy Sports Genie
So a chat with "real-time data guy" here confirmed that we weren't receiving any starter info for the Phillies lately. This was a weird one, because we were getting starter data for their opponents in each game. It really was a Phillies thing. We raised it with our data provider, and it looks to me like they worked properly today. Assuming that is all right, hopefully this is fixed; if you see it acting funny again, lemme know.

Re: Yahoo - starting lineup indicators

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 11:28 pm
by BitterDodgerFan
thanks genie, you rock. ;-D