Return to Baseball Leftovers

what happened with the texas game and almanzar??

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

what happened with the texas game and almanzar??

Postby Carolina Blue » Wed Sep 15, 2004 1:52 am

he came in with a 12-9 lead with 1 out in the ninth and got the final 2 outs, correct me if im wrong but does'nt that count as a save???
Just drafted my team... Please Rate???

http://www.fantasybaseballcafe.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=102425
Carolina Blue
College Coach
College Coach


Posts: 160
Joined: 29 Mar 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby shortsavage » Wed Sep 15, 2004 2:06 am

I just did some rule reading and I cannot figure this one out. I checked two sources and neither gave him a save, so there must be some rule behind the situation.
Mike Pelfrey > Matt Garza
shortsavage
General Manager
General Manager

User avatar
Cafe WriterWeb Supporter
Posts: 2931
(Past Year: -15)
Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: UC Davis

Postby shpuck » Wed Sep 15, 2004 2:23 am

How many were on? If no one was on it isn't a save situation. He would need to have one on so the man on deck represents the tying run.

From http://espn.go.com/mlb/s/1999/0908/46403.html

(b) He enters the game, regardless of the count, with the potential tying run either on base, or at bat, or on deck (that is, the potential tying run is either already on base or is one of the first two batsmen he faces);

This is the edit:
I just looked at the Play-By-Play. There was one man on, but that man was due to Almanzar letting him get a hit. When Almanzar came in, he wasn't entering in a save situation, and you can't pitch yourself into a save.
shpuck
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

User avatar
Pick 3 Weekly Winner
Posts: 468
(Past Year: -1)
Joined: 13 Apr 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: San Jose, CA

Postby Bloody Nipples » Wed Sep 15, 2004 2:52 am

OK, I agree about the save rule, but one thing has always bugged me: why is it a save if a pitcher comes in at the beginning of the ninth with a 3 runs lead and doesnt give it up? The tying run is not on deck, so why is it a save? What makes that different from getting 2 outs with the same situation, as Almanzar did today?
Bloody Nipples
General Manager
General Manager


Posts: 3741
(Past Year: -4)
Joined: 28 Feb 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: doing my laundry...

Postby strats36 » Wed Sep 15, 2004 11:58 am

I think you overlooked something

(a) He enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitches for at least one inning

He didn't pitch an inning
strats36
College Coach
College Coach

User avatar

Posts: 209
Joined: 29 Apr 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby Madison » Wed Sep 15, 2004 2:59 pm

strats36 wrote:I think you overlooked something

(a) He enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitches for at least one inning

He didn't pitch an inning


There you go. ;-D
Yes doctor, I am sick.
Sick of those who are spineless.
Sick of those who feel self-entitled.
Sick of those who are hypocrites.
Yes doctor, an army is forming.
Yes doctor, there will be a war.
Yes doctor, there will be blood.....
Madison
Mod in Retirement
Mod in Retirement

User avatar
ExecutiveEditorCafeholicFantasy ExpertCafe WriterCafe RankerMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeCafe SpotterInnovative MemberCafe MusketeerPick 3 ChampionMatchup Meltdown SurvivorLucky Ladders Weekly Winner
Posts: 48715
(Past Year: -5140)
Joined: 29 Apr 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Taking Souls...


Return to Baseball Leftovers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron