Return to Baseball Leftovers

Saves if up by three runs? I don't understand

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Saves if up by three runs? I don't understand

Postby Guest » Sat Aug 10, 2002 3:23 pm

Why is it relievers pick up a save when their team is up by three runs?

For instance, on Thursday night with the Yankees leading 6-3;

Mariano Rivera came on in the 9th inning;
He got three fly outs in a row and picked up the save.

Why is that? I thought you pick up a save only if the tying run is on the on deck circle. Thanks.

Home Cafe: Football
Friendliness: %

Postby Arlo » Sat Aug 10, 2002 3:39 pm

The rule is as follows:

Credit a pitcher with a save when he meets all three of the following conditions:

(1) He is the finishing pitcher in a game won by his club; and

(2) He is not the winning pitcher; and

(3) He qualifies under one of the following conditions:
(a) He enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitches for at least one inning; or
(b) He enters the game, regardless of the count, with the potential tying run either on base, or at bat, or on deck (that is, the potential tying run is either already on base or is one of the first two batsmen he faces); or
(c) He pitches effectively for at least three innings. No more than one save may be credited in each game.

Hope this helps!
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
Fantasy ExpertCafe WriterCafe RankerPick 3 Weekly WinnerSweet 16 SurvivorLucky Ladders Weekly Winner
Posts: 7375
(Past Year: -1472)
Joined: 4 Jan 2002
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: The Cheap Seats

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests